You are currently viewing Understanding Types Of Alimony Awards

Understanding Types Of Alimony Awards

Alimony, also known as spousal support, is a financial arrangement during or after a divorce that one spouse pays to the other. Its purpose is to mitigate the economic effects of a divorce by providing a continuing income to a non-wage-earning or lower-wage-earning spouse. Here’s an overview of the different types of alimony awards that can help you understand what to expect in different scenarios.

Temporary Alimony

Temporary alimony, often referred to as pendente lite alimony, is awarded during the divorce proceedings. It is intended to provide financial stability and maintain the living status of the lower-earning spouse while the legal process is ongoing. This type of alimony ends when the divorce is finalized, at which point it may be replaced by another form of alimony.

Rehabilitative Alimony

Rehabilitative alimony is one of the most common types of alimony. Its goal is to support a spouse in becoming financially independent. Payments are intended for a specific period sufficient for the recipient to receive training or education necessary to become self-sufficient. This might be appropriate in cases where one spouse may have paused their career to support the family and needs time to develop employable skills.

Durational Alimony

Durational alimony provides financial assistance for a set period. This period cannot exceed the length of the marriage and is often awarded when no other form of alimony is suitable. This type of alimony is beneficial in shorter marriages where one spouse may need economic assistance but not on a permanent basis.

Permanent Alimony

Permanent alimony may be awarded when the duration of the marriage has been long, typically over 20 years, and there is a significant disparity in the earning capabilities of the spouses that is unlikely to change significantly in the future. This type of alimony continues until the death of either spouse or the remarriage of the recipient. It’s intended to provide for the needs and lifestyle to which one spouse may have become accustomed during the marriage but cannot sustain alone due to age, disability, or other factors.

Reimbursement Alimony

Reimbursement alimony is somewhat less common and is awarded to reimburse a spouse for expenses incurred on behalf of the other spouse during the marriage. This might include situations where one spouse supported the other through advanced education expecting to share in the future benefits of that education.

The Role Of An Family Lawyer

Navigating the complexities of alimony can be daunting. This is where an alimony lawyer can become invaluable. An experienced lawyer can help you understand which type of alimony may apply to your situation and advocate for your interests during negotiations or in court. Our friends at Attorney Bernie specialize in providing thorough guidance through these legal processes, ensuring that their clients receive fair and equitable treatment under the law.

Final Thoughts

Understanding the different types of alimony can help you anticipate what might be expected in your situation, whether you are likely to receive alimony or may be required to pay it. Each type serves a different purpose and fits different circumstances, reflecting the unique aspects of each marital situation. If you are going through a divorce and believe alimony will be a component, consulting with a knowledgeable family lawyer who specializes in alimony can be crucial. They can provide expertise and representation that align with your best interests, helping you navigate this complex aspect of divorce law.